Engine change penalties for Armstrong, Fittipaldi and Rosenqvist at Mid-Ohio

IndyCar has announced six-position starting grid penalties for the No. 11 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda driven by Marcus Armstrong, No. 30 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda of Pietro Fittipaldi and No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Honda of Felix Rosenqvist for this weekend’s Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. The penalties were assessed for unapproved engine changes following the team test last Thursday at Iowa Speedway.

The teams were in violation of:

Rule A fifth engine is eligible to earn engine manufacturer points if a full season entrant has completed the full season entrant engine mileage with its first four engines. Otherwise, a fifth or more engine does not earn engine manufacturer points and will be considered an unapproved engine change-out.


According to Rule, the penalty is a six-position starting grid penalty on road and street course events and nine positions at oval events and will be served at the series’ next event.

Story originally appeared on Racer