Formula 1 British Grand Prix – how to watch, start time & more

Rachit Thukral
·3 mins read

Mercedes, Red Bull and Racing Point are likely to be the primary contenders for victory this weekend, based on their form in practice and the opening three races of the season.

Mercedes' Lewis Hamilton will start the race from pole position, ahead of teammate Valtteri Bottas. Red Bull's Max Verstappen and the Ferrari of Charles Leclerc will share the second row of the grid.

Racing Point has replaced Sergio Perez with Nico Hulkenberg for the race after the Mexican driver tested positive for coronavirus on Thursday.

Hulkenberg, returning to F1 after being dropped by Renault at the end of 2019, was up to pace immediately, setting the seventh fastest lap time in FP2.

The German driver is still chasing a maiden podium in F1, despite making 177 starts since his debut with Williams in 2010.

When is the Formula 1 British Grand Prix? 

Located in the motorsport valley, 125 miles north-west of London, Silverstone will host the British Grand Prix on August 2.

Date: Sunday 2nd August, 2020  Start time: 2:10pm BST / 3:10pm CEST / 9:10am ET / 6:10am PT / 10:10pm JST / 11:10pm AEST / 6:40pm IST

Can’t find your country or region in the list? Check the schedule page for the broadcast times in your local timezone.

How can I watch the British Grand Prix?

The British Grand Prix will be broadcast live in nearly every country around the world. 

Europe: Both Sky Sports F1 and Channel 4 will broadcast the British GP live in the UK. Sky TV will also broadcast the race in Italy. Viewers in Germany can watch the race on RTL, while French and Spanish F1 fans can watch the race on Canal+ and Movistar respectively. 

North America: The British GP will be broadcast in the US on ESPN, in Mexico on Tudn and in Canada on TSN/RDS.

Asia: Most of Asia is covered by Fox Sports, including India where F1 is broadcast by sister channel Star Sports Select 2. Fuji TV Next will carry live coverage in Japan. 

Oceanica: Fox Sports 506 will bring live coverage from Silverstone to viewers in Australia. Spark Sport will show the race in New Zealand.

Can I stream the British Grand Prix?

Viewers from selected countries can subscribe to F1 TV to stream the race on a device of their choice. Sky Sports and Movistar offer live streaming in the UK and Spain respectively, with the latter's package costing seven euros a month.

Weather forecast for the British Grand Prix

The temperature is expected to hover between 11C and 22C at Silverstone on Sunday.

British Grand Prix starting grid:

1

United Kingdom
United Kingdom

Lewis Hamilton

Mercedes F1 W11 EQ Power+
Mercedes F1 W11 EQ Power+

Mercedes

1'24.303

2

Finland
Finland

Valtteri Bottas

Mercedes F1 W11 EQ Power+
Mercedes F1 W11 EQ Power+

Mercedes

1'24.616

0.313

3

Netherlands
Netherlands

Max Verstappen

Red Bull Racing-Honda RB16
Red Bull Racing-Honda RB16

Red Bull

1'25.325

1.022

4

Monaco
Monaco

Charles Leclerc

Ferrari SF1000
Ferrari SF1000

Ferrari

1'25.427

1.124

5

United Kingdom
United Kingdom

Lando Norris

McLaren-Renault MCL35
McLaren-Renault MCL35

McLaren

1'25.782

1.479

6

Canada
Canada

Lance Stroll

Racing Point-BWT Mercedes RP20
Racing Point-BWT Mercedes RP20

Racing Point

1'25.839

1.536

7

Spain
Spain

Carlos Sainz Jr.

McLaren-Renault MCL35
McLaren-Renault MCL35

McLaren

1'25.965

1.662

8

Australia
Australia

Daniel Ricciardo

Renault R.S.20
Renault R.S.20

Renault

1'26.009

1.706

9

France
France

Esteban Ocon

Renault R.S.20
Renault R.S.20

Renault

1'26.209

1.906

10

Germany
Germany

Sebastian Vettel

Ferrari SF1000
Ferrari SF1000

Ferrari

1'26.339

2.036

11

France
France

Pierre Gasly

AlphaTauri-Honda AT01
AlphaTauri-Honda AT01

AlphaTauri

1'26.501

2.198

12

Thailand
Thailand

Alex Albon

Red Bull Racing-Honda RB16
Red Bull Racing-Honda RB16

Red Bull

1'26.545

2.242

13

Germany
Germany

Nico Hulkenberg

Racing Point-BWT Mercedes RP20
Racing Point-BWT Mercedes RP20

Racing Point

1'26.566

2.263

14

Denmark
Denmark

Kevin Magnussen

Haas-Ferrari VF-20
Haas-Ferrari VF-20

Haas

1'27.158

2.855

15

Italy
Italy

Antonio Giovinazzi

Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari C39
Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari C39

Alfa Romeo

1'27.164

2.861

16

Finland
Finland

Kimi Raikkonen

Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari C39
Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari C39

Alfa Romeo

1'27.366

3.063

17

France
France

Romain Grosjean

Haas-Ferrari VF-20
Haas-Ferrari VF-20

Haas

1'27.643

3.340

18

Canada
Canada

Nicholas Latifi

Williams-Mercedes FW43
Williams-Mercedes FW43

Williams

1'27.705

3.402

19

Russian Federation
Russian Federation

Daniil Kvyat

AlphaTauri-Honda AT01
AlphaTauri-Honda AT01

AlphaTauri

1'26.744

2.441

20

United Kingdom
United Kingdom

George Russell

Williams-Mercedes FW43
Williams-Mercedes FW43

Williams

1'27.092

2.789

View full results