Hinchcliffe to be inducted into Canadian Motorsports Hall of Fame

James Hinchcliffe will be one of the 15 new inductees into the Canadian Motorsports Hall of Fame during the Hall’s annual Gala Induction Ceremony in Toronto in February.

The Ontario native’s IndyCar career spanned 161 starts over 11 years and included stints with Newman/Haas, Schmidt Peterson Motorsports and two stops at Andretti Autosport. During that time he delivered six wins, 18 podiums, and pole position for the 2016 Indianapolis 500. Outside of IndyCar, his resume includes three starts at the Rolex 24 at Daytona, and Australian Supercar entries at Surfers Paradise and Bathurst.

A total of 12 individuals and one racing duo will be inducted in the Competitors/Motorsport Builders/Race Support Participants category, while two veteran Canadian motorsports journalists will be honored in the Media category.

Fifty-six individuals and organizations representing varied racing disciplines and regions from across Canada were put forward for consideration by members of the public. Once the nomination period closed, the CMHF Independent Selection Committee reviewed and scored the nominations. Subsequently, the recommendation was made to the Board of Directors to induct 15 new members into the CMHF. The Board approved the recommendation at its meeting on Thursday, October 19.

Joining Hinchcliffe in being inducted next year will be Claude Aubin, Jeremy Dale, Mark Dilley, Ernie Jakubowski, Norman Jennings, Brad Moran, Patrick Richard, Didier Schraenen, Frank and Dan Sprongl, Bill Vallis, John Waldie and Kuno Wittmer. John Massingberd and J. Wally Nesbitt will be inducted into the Media category.

Story originally appeared on Racer