HSR Classic Daytona to be livestreamed

Historic Sportscar Racing (HSR) announced today that next weekend’s running of the HSR Classic Daytona presented by IMSA 24-hour race for historic and vintage sports cars will be featured in online livestream coverage Saturday, November 4 and Sunday, November 5. Presented by HSR and produced by DriversEye Live, the livestream programming features prime daytime coverage of the HSR Classic 24 and will be available simultaneously on HSR’s Facebook page at and the official HSR YouTube channel.

The HSR Classic Daytona features seven different Run Groups — A through G – competing in succession for a full 24 hours on the iconic Daytona International Speedway (DIS) 3.56-mile road course. Each Run Group — with C and D sharing the track while competing for respective group honors — runs four times throughout the 24 hours with the individual segments clocking in at just under one hour in length. It all adds up to 24 straight hours of historic and vintage sports car competition with the winners of each Run Group presented with HSR Classic 24 edition B.R.M. Chronographes luxury watches.

The Classic 24’s just over 12 hours of daytime livestream coverage begins just before competitors in Group C and D, which have the honor of starting the race this year, begin their pace laps at 2:00pm ET on Saturday. Classic 24 programming then runs straight through the next six hours covering the opening rounds for all competing race groups before signing off for the night just after the traditional fireworks display at 8:00pm during the Group A race.


The live feed returns Sunday morning at 7:00am ET (clocks “fall back” an hour overnight!) for another prime daytime six-hour block of coverage featuring the fourth and final rounds that will determine the overall winners for all Run Groups, ending with the final checkered flag at 1:00pm.

The on-air talent team for Classic 24 livestream features veteran sports car racing broadcaster and frequent HSR commentator Joe Bradley (pictured at top) who will serve as the race’s roving reporter as the perfect personality to patrol the garages, paddock area and various infield attractions to speak with drivers, teams, fans and VIPs for some insight on the competition and the spectacle the Classic 24 has become.

Bradley will be joined by his British countryman Paul Tarsey, another experienced HSR voice who brings a wealth of historic sports car racing knowledge to the booth where he joins broadcast co-host Jeff Wright, the longtime and familiar Official Announcer of HSR.

DriversEye Live was founded in 2019 with a focus on making amateur and grassroots motorsports more accessible. They currently are the live streaming partner of both the SCCA Super Tour and the World Racing League (WRL), with roughly 400 hours of coverage produced so far in 2023. The Classic 24 production features up to twelve static trackside cameras from around both the infield and the oval, paired with a custom-built timing and scoring display. A planned feature of DriversEye Live’s coverage is entrant-provided live onboard cameras with plans to have some available across all Classic 24 run groups.

Released last week, the 2023 HSR Classic 24 entry list has attracted the usual triple-digit lineup of former race winners and debuting contenders. In addition to a priceless array of historic sport car racing machines from Porsches to Ferraris to Ford GT40s, competing drivers are a talented collection of HSR champions who will be joined by an honor roll of past and present motorsports notables and industry leaders.

Among the top names entered in the HSR Classic 24 and the weekend’s accompanying HSR Daytona Historics races are Adrian Newey, Ray Evernham, Jim Farley (bottom right in collage above), Andy Wallace, Butch Leitzinger, Dan Ammann, Eric Curran, Guy Cosmo, Eric Foss, James Gue, Jonathan Bomarito, Darrin Brassfield, Tom Long, Sean Rayhall, Ralf Kelleners, Tony Ave, Corey Fergus, Louis-Philippe Dumoulin, Hugh Plumb and more.

The Classic 24 gets underway Saturday, November 4 at 2pm EDT and, for the second consecutive year, the overnight time change from EDT (Eastern Daylight Time) to EST (Eastern Standard Time) – when U.S time “falls back” an hour – will see repeat 1 a.m. sessions early Sunday morning. Group G runs its second of four sessions at 1am EDT and will be followed by the third round for Group A at 1am EST.

Story originally appeared on Racer