IMSA LMP2 headliner at CTMP garners 35 entries

The combination of the LMP2 class being the headliner for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park next weekend and the conflict with the World Endurance Championship race at Interlagos in Brazil has created a wealth of opportunity for GTP drivers to get a little different view. Four GTP drivers are substituting in the 12-car LMP2 field in the first sprint race for the class this season and the first time LMP2 has raced at the 2.459-mile, 10-turn road course since 2019.

The full field comprising LMP2, GTD PRO and GTD has 35 entries.

GTP drivers in the LMP2 category include Renger van der Zande joining John Farano in the No. 8 Tower Motorsports ORECA; Filipe Albuquerque with Danial Goldburg in the United Autosports No. 22; Pipo Derani driving the No. 88 AF Corse entry with Luis Perez Companc; and Louis Deletraz repeating his stint from the 24 Hours of Le Mans with PJ Hyett in AO Racing’s No. 99 ORECA.


It’s the familiar pairing of Gar Robinson and Felipe Fraga — CTMP winners in LMP3 last year — who lead the points for Riley Motorsports, 252 to 248 for Era Motorsport’s Ryan Dalziel, who will be partnering with Stuart Wiltshire for the next two races. Nick Boulle and Tom Dillman are third for Euro Interpol with PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports.

Colin Braun and George Kurtz, fresh off a Pro-Am class victory in the 24 Hours of Spa (with Ian James and Nicky Catsburg), are looking for their first LMP2 victory in 2024. If they should manage the feat, Braun will have a rather unique distinction: he’ll have won at CTMP three years in a row, each time in a different class. He won LMP3 with Jon Bennett for CORE Autosport in 2022 and took the GTP class win with Tom Blomqvist in the Meyer Shank Racing Acura ARX-06 last year. Braun has six victories at CTMP over the years.

Heart of Racing will have a couple of substitutes in its GTD PRO and GTD entries for CTMP as Alex Riberas and Ian James compete in Brazil, but they’re familiar ones. Mario Farnbacher takes Riberas’s spot with Ross Gunn in the No. 23 GTD PRO Aston Martin Vantage GT3 Evo that won at the Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen last time out with Riberas and Gunn. In the GTD entry, Spencer Pumpelly joins Roman De Angelis in the No. 27 for the third time this season.

GTD PRO points leaders Laurin Heinrich and Seb Priaulx will be looking to rebound after a rough weekend at Watkins Glen and resume their winning ways for AO Racing. The pair have taken both sprint races so far this season in the No. 77 Porsche 911 GT3 R. However, CTMP has been the spot of much success for Corvette Racing, with Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor taking the victory last year.

Whether it’s points leaders Philip Ellis and Russell Ward for Winward Racing, their closest pursuers Patrick Gallagher and Robby Foley for Tuner Motorsport, or someone else, GTD will not have a repeat winner from last year, as Madison Snow, Bryan Sellers and Paul Miller Racing have moved to GTD PRO where they’re looking for their first victory. Winward has taken the win in four of five races this season.

Seven Canadian drivers are entered for IMSA’s annual trip north of the border. They include John Farano (No. 8 Tower Motorsports ORECA), Mikael Grenier (No. 32 Korthoff Preston Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3), Kyle Marcelli (No. 45 Wayne Taylor Racing with Andretti Lamborghini Huracán GT3 EVO2) and Misha Goikhberg (No. 78 Forte Racing Lamborghini Huracán GT3 EVO2).

The 2h40m Chevrolet Grand Prix at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park is scheduled to kick off at 11:10am ET on Sunday, July 14. The race in its entirety will be broadcast on USA Network, as well as streamed on Peacock and on and outside the U.S. Qualifying will be streamed on Peacock and on Saturday, July 13 at 3:55pm ET. Commentary for select sessions will also be provided by IMSA Radio on and


Story originally appeared on Racer