Sorensen to make Extreme E return with Button’s team

Amanda Sorensen will return to Extreme E at this weekend’s Hydro X Prix, racing for JBXE alongside Andreas Bakkerud in rounds three and four of the season.

The American’s return for the races in Scotland comes after Dani Akeel’s exit from the team following a difficult debut for her on home soil in February’s Desert X Prix in Saudi Arabia.

“It’s great to be back in the championship competing for JBXE at the team’s home race in the UK,” said Sorensen. “I am excited to be back racing in Extreme E, and to join the JBXE team. I had a really strong event the last time we raced in Scotland and it would be fantastic to repeat and get on the podium again.


“The main thing, though, is to put in a strong performance alongside Andreas and get the team moving up the standings.”

Nitrocross Side-by-Side and Formula Drift regular Sorensen raced in the series for Chip Ganassi Racing last season, securing back-to-back podium finishes with RJ Anderson in the second Scotland race, as well as at the first of four Island X Prix races in Sardinia. The pair eventually fifth in the standings before the team exited the series in the off-season.

Anderson becomes the 11th driver to race for JBXE in four seasons after Jenson Button, Mikaela Ahlin-Kottulinsky, Kevin Hansen, Molly Taylor, Hedda Hosaas, Fraser McConnell, Heikki Kovalainen, Bakkerud, Tamara Molinaro, and Akeel.

“We are thrilled to have Amanda as part of our driver line-up for the Hydro X Prix in Scotland,” said JBXE team owner Button. “Amanda has strong pedigree in the series having already finished on the podium multiple times last season, and we are hoping she can form a strong team with Andreas and score a big haul of points at the Hydro X Prix.

“We are looking forward to racing again and believe we will be competitive in Scotland.”

Following the first two rounds of the season, JBXE sits seventh out of eight in the standings, after seventh and eighth place finishes in Saudi Arabia. The team scored its first redemption race win since 2021 last time the series visited Scotland, with Bakkerud and the team’s former driver Hedda Hosaas beating Andretti Altawkilat, Abt Cupra, and Lewis Hamilton’s X44 team.

Story originally appeared on Racer