Alexander Rossi Penalized for Water Bottle-Related Violation After IndyCar Win

·1 min read
Photo credit: Icon Sportswire - Getty Images
Photo credit: Icon Sportswire - Getty Images

Alexander Rossi has been penalized $25,000 and 20 championship points for a weight infraction stemming from his win at last Saturday's IndyCar race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. Rossi's Andretti Autosport team was also docked 20 points in the team championship.

The penalty comes after Rossi's car was found to violate minimum weight regulations for road and street courses. While the car achieved minimum weight, it had apparently done so in a way with assistance from a drink bottle that is not allowed in IndyCar's rulebook.

While the penalty is still substantial, the series clarified to RACER that the car is believed to have run at its expected weight throughout Saturday's race and would have been disqualified if the weight penalty was more substantial. If a midweek disqualification had come down, it would have elevated Rahal Letterman Lanigan rookie Christian Lundgaard to his first career race win.

After the penalty, Rossi now falls from eighth to ninth in the IndyCar standings. He remains more than 100 points out of the championship hunt and no longer has a clear path to title contention in 2022, his last season with Andretti Autosport.

You Might Also Like