Indy 500 field likely set at 35 entries after Foyt opts to stay at two cars

A.J. Foyt Racing will not enter a third car for the Indianapolis 500, and with that decision, the field of qualifiers should be set for the 108th running of the event.

“Just two,” team president Larry Foyt told RACER on Thursday at St. Petersburg.

Although the development with Foyt was not unexpected, the confirmation from the team means the Indy 500 will have 35 entries fielded by 12 teams unless there are unforeseen withdrawals, or the filing of a 36th entry from an unknown team takes place.

Chip Ganassi Racing has the most cars headed to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway with five and Abel Motorsports, making its second appearance, is the smallest with one.


Among engine manufacturers, Chevrolet — the defending race winner — has 17 cars that will use its 2.2-liter twin-turbo V6 engines, and Honda has 18 on its supply list for its championship-winning 2.2-liter twin-turbo V6 motors.

The 35 are made up of:

Abel Motorsports (1)

No. 50 Chevy: RC Enerson

A.J. Foyt Racing (2)

No. 14 Chevy: Santino Ferrucci

No. 41 Chevy: Sting Ray Robb

Andretti Global (4)

No. 26 Honda: Colton Herta

No. 27 Honda: Kyle Kirkwood

No. 28 Honda: Marcus Ericsson

No. 98 Honda: Marco Andretti

Arrow McLaren (4)

No. 5 Chevy: Pato O’Ward

No. 6 Chevy: David Malukas

No. 7 Chevy: Alexander Rossi

No. 17 Chevy: Kyle Larson

Chip Ganassi Racing (5)

No. 4 Honda: Kyffin Simpson

No. 8 Honda: Linus Lundqvist

No. 9 Honda: Scott Dixon

No. 10 Honda: Alex Palou