From Lee Petty to Erik Jones: Every Driver Who Won a NASCAR Cup Race for a Petty-owned Team

lee petty
Every Driver Who Recorded a Cup Victory for PettyRacingOne - Getty Images

Three-time series champion Lee Petty got the first and a career total of 54 of the 268 NASCAR Cup Series victories for Petty Enterprises, the backyard company he created in Level Cross, N.C. in 1949.

His eldest son, seven-time champion Richard, got 196 of the family team’s other 214 victories, along with his two each with Don Robertson and Mike Curb. That leaves 18 points-paying victories for the other drivers who won for Petty-owned teams in NASCAR.

Editor's note: This year, the Petty family is celebrating 75 years of NASCAR racing, and Autoweek is coming along for the ride with a series of "Petty 75" stories written by reporters who have been covering the King and his family for more than 50 of those years. In addition, be sure to check out the Petty family's own social media channels throughout the year and join in the party. Content will be featured on the @therichardpetty, @pettybrothersracing, @kylepetty, @pettymuseum and @pettysgarage social media accounts as well as a soon-to-launch YouTube channel.


Here's a look at the list of winners for Petty Enterprises, Petty Motorsports and Petty-GMS in the NASCAR Cup Series.

Richard Petty 196 Wins

Seven-time champion Richard Petty, earned 196 victories with Petty Enterprises. His other four Cup Series wins were two each with car owners Don Robertson and Mike Curb.

daytona 500
RacingOne - Getty Images

Lee Petty 54 wins

With 54 wins, Lee Petty was the second-biggest winner for the race team he started. Here he shows off his trophy for his win at the 1959 Daytona 500.

1959 winston cup daytona 500
RacingOne - Getty Images

Jim Paschal 9 Wins

Jim Paschal won nine times for Petty Enterprises between 1962 and 1964. His biggest win for Petty was the 1964 World 6oo at Charlotte.

jim paschal
RacingOne - Getty Images

Marvin Panch 1 Win

Marvin Panch won 17 races in his NASCAR Cup Series career, mostly for the Wood Brothers. The final race win of his NASCAR career came with a Petty Enterprises Plymouth at the 1966 World 600 in Charlotte.

marvin panch nascar 1966
RacingOne - Getty Images

Pete Hamilton 3 Wins

Pete Hamilton won the Daytona 500 and twice at Talladega for Petty Enterprises in 1970.

1970 talladega 500 victory lane
RacingOne - Getty Images

Buddy Baker 2 Wins

Buddy Baker won at Darlington in 1971 and at Charlotte in 1972 for Petty Enterprises.

buddy baker holding trophy
Bettmann - Getty Images

Bobby Hamilton 2 Wins

Bobby Hamilton, let, raced for Petty Enterprises from 1995 through 1997. He won twice for the King—at Phoenix in 1996 and at Rockingham in 1997.

richard petty and bobby hamilton
RacingOne - Getty Images

John Andretti 1 Win

John Andretti added his name to the Petty lore with his win for Petty Enterprises at Martinsville in 1999. Andretti's win was No. 268 and last for Petty Enterprises.

1999 goody's body pain 500
George Tiedemann - Getty Images

Kasey Kahne 2 Wins

Kasey Kahne won twice in 2009 for the rebranded Petty Motorsports in 2009. Those wins came on the road course at Sonoma and at Atlanta, pushing the Petty win total to 270.

toyotasave mart 350
Ezra Shaw - Getty Images

Marcos Ambrose 2 Wins

Marcos Ambrose makes the Petty list for his wins for Petty Motorsports at Watkins Glen in both 2011 and 2012. Those wins were the only two Cup wins for Ambrose in 227 career starts.

finger lakes 355 at the glen
Jeff Zelevansky - Getty Images

Aric Almirola 1 Win

Aric Almirola got the final win with Petty Motorsports on the entry, winning the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona in 2014 for Petty Motorsports.

coke zero 400 powered by coca cola
Chris Graythen - Getty Images

Erik Jones 1 Win

Petty's final win with the Petty name on the entry list came in 2022 at Darlington when Erik Jones won for Petty-GMS Racing. It was win No. 274 for Richard Petty as an owner.

Following the 2021 season, Petty sold controlling interest in his team to Maury Gallagher, in effect ending the Petty family's run as a majority team owner in the NASCAR Cup Series. The team now races under the Legacy Motor Club banner.

nascar cup series goodyear 400
James Gilbert - Getty Images