Rosberg X Racing's Kristoffersson, Taylor Win Inuagural Extreme E Title

Photo credit: WPA Pool - Getty Images
Photo credit: WPA Pool - Getty Images

Johann Kristofferson and Molly Taylor of Rosberg X Racing have beaten out Cristina Guttierez and WRC legend Sebastian Loeb for the inaugural Extreme E championship on a tiebreaker, claiming the first championships in series history.

Guttierez and Loeb won this weekend's event in England for Lewis Hamilton's X44 team, but it was their only win through five rallies. RXR, however, won three of the first four rounds, enough to for their drivers to take the inaugural title in the unique rally raid category.

Extreme E was designed to emphasize the effects of climate change by visiting remote locations to race through ecosystems that have already been decimated. COVID-related logistical issues led the series to cancel three rounds in its inaugural season, however, and leaving the series to instead race through more traditional rally venues in Sardinia and England. The rallies meant to accomplish the original goal took place in Saudi Arabia's deserts, Senegal's beaches afflicted by plastic pollution, and far reaches of Greenland near melting ice caps.

Nine teams participated in the inaugural championship, including programs owned by current or former F1 drivers Michael Andretti, Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button, Jean-Eric Vergne, and Nico Rosberg. Chip Ganassi Racing and Abt Racing highlight the rest of the grid, which also includes programs from Carlos Sainz Sr. and the Hispano Suiza revival. Rosberg's team beat out Hamilton's for the championship, while Button's team came in third.

The new championship is scheduled to continue in 2022, but only two of the five rounds have announced a venue. McLaren, which has previously employed three of the five former F1 drivers with teams on the grid, will join the series when those rallies are eventually run.

You Might Also Like