Sam Bird Gives McLaren First Formula E Win

2024 hankook mexico city e prix practice
Sam Bird Gives McLaren First Formula E Win Jam Media - Getty Images

If you can’t join ’em, beat ’em.

Sam Bird, who parted ways with Jaguar TCS after last season, overtook former teammate and 2023 race winner Mitch Evans on the final lap Saturday afternoon at São Paulo in FIA ABB Formula E championship action to give NEOM McLaren its first triumph in the 10-year-old series.

The victory on the Anhembi Sambadrome circuit in the Brazilian capital was Bird’s 12th overall in the global all-electric series and his first since the 2021 New York City race. It marked the fourth different winner in as many events this year.

With an outside maneuver on the 10th of 11 turns, Bird beat Evans to the checkered flag by 0.564 of a second. Nissan’s Oliver Rowland was third, 3.540 seconds off Bird’s pace.


“Things have come on really well quite quickly,” Bird said of his new team. “We had some goals at the beginning of the year about scoring some podiums. I would be lying to you, saying that I thought that we could definitely win a race this early. I didn’t imagine that, but we’ve managed it.