Updated NASCAR Playoff Standings after Tyler Reddick's Win at Kansas

nascar cup series hollywood casino 400
Updated NASCAR Playoff Standings after Reddick WinSean Gardner - Getty Images

Kyle Larson and Tyler Reddick, who one Sunday's race at Kansas, will advance into the Round of 12 after victories in the NASCAR Cup Series first two playoff races.

Several playoff drivers experienced problems in Sunday’s Hollywood Casino 400, but the two that were affected the most were Martin Truex Jr. and Bubba Wallace.

Regular season champion Truex is now seven points below the cutline heading into the September 15 Saturday night race at Bristol Motor Speedway, which will determine the Round of 12. The Kansas race was only three laps old when he exited the event after cutting a tire and hitting the wall.


Wallace was in second when a flat right-rear tire sent him into the wall. His 23XI Racing crew replaced his Toyota’s damaged toe link in 5 minutes 26 seconds, but he had to settle for a 32nd-place finish, four laps down to his teammate and winner Reddick. That left Wallace 19 points below the cutline.

The two other drivers below the cutline are Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Michael McDowell. Stenhouse is 22 points below the cutline while McDowell is 40.

Cup Playoff Standings

  1. x-Kyle Larson, Chevrolet, 2,117

  2. x-Tyler Reddick, Toyota, 2,111

  3. Denny Hamlin, Toyota, 2,1-5

  4. William Byron, Chevrolet, 2,097

  5. Brad Keselowski, Ford, 2,089

  6. Ryan Blaney, Ford, 2,081

  7. Kyle Busch, Chevrolet, 2,080

  8. Ross Chastain, Chevrolet, 2,074

  9. Chris Buescher, Ford, 2,069

  10. Christopher Bell, Toyota, 2,069

  11. Joey Logano, Ford, 2,068

  12. Kevin Harvick, Ford, 2063

  13. Martin Truex Jr., Toyota, 2,056

  14. Bubba Wallace, Toyota, 2,044

  15. Ricky Stenhouse, Chevrolet, 2,041

  16. Michael McDowell, Ford, 2,023

NASCAR Xfinity Series

John Hunter Nemechek handed Toyota its 200th NASCAR Xfinity Series victory in Saturday’s Kansas Lottery 300 at Kansas Speedway. Nemechek leads the victory column this season with six. However, he lost the regular season title to Austin Hill. Once the drivers were seeded for the playoffs, Nemechek possessed the No. 1 position.

Joining Nemechek and Hill in the Xfinity playoffs that kick off at Bristol Friday night are Justin Allgaier, Cole Custer, Sam Mayer, Chandler Smith, Josh Berry, Sheldon Creed, Sammy Smith, Jeb Burton, Daniel Hemric and Parker Kligerman.

NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series

The NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series ended its first playoffs round at Kansas Speedway with three-time champion Matt Crafton and Matt DiBenedetto being eliminated.

The Round of 8 for the truck series begins Thursday night at Bristol Motor Speedway. Those advancing in the playoffs are Corey Heim, Christian Eckes, Grant Enfinger, Carson Hocevar, Zane Smith, Ty Majeski, Ben Rhodes and Nick Sanchez.