WEC Schedule Revealed, Endurance Racing Returning to COTA in 2025

24 hours of le mans 2024 practice and qualifying
WEC Returning to Circuit of the Americas in 2025James Moy Photography - Getty Images

The World Endurance Championship is returning to the Lone Star State in 2025.

Sebring, however, is off.

On Friday, the WEC unveiled its 2025 schedule, one which will again include eight races. Unlike the past two years that has seen the WEC season kick off with its Prologue at Sebring (Fla.) International Raceway, the 2025 season will kick off with the Official Prologue in Qatar on February 21-22 followed by the Qatar 1,812 km endurance race on Feb. 28.

Once again the series will hit four continents. The lone race in North America will be the Lone Star Le Mans at Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas, on September 7.


The marque event—the 24 Hour of Le Mans—will assume the June 14-15 dates on the schedule.

“The 2025 FIA WEC calendar is about consolidation and creating a schedule that works for both our teams and fans," said Frédéric Lequien, FIA World Endurance Championship CEO. "The FIA WEC is growing at an extraordinary rate, but we must remain humble and by maintaining eight rounds, we are listening to our teams, stakeholders and partners by also keeping budget in mind.

"It is important for the FIA WEC to reach as wide an audience as possible and with eight races across five different regions, we will continue to achieve this."

Another note from the schedule announcement is that Imola, Italy, is not only returning for a second consecutive year as a WEC event, it has extended its commitment through 2028.

"We are delighted that Imola has committed to the FIA WEC until at least 2028," Lequien said. "The circuit and city Mayor Marco Panieri have been a tremendous support and this year’s inaugural FIA WEC race there was a huge success, which we look forward to emulating in 2025 and beyond.”

2025 World Endurance Championship


February 21-22: Official Prologue, Qatar

February 28: Qatar 1,182 km

April 20: 6 Hours of Imola, Italy

May 10: 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium

June 14-15: 24 Hours of Le Mans

July 13: Rolex 6 Hours of Sao Paulo

September 7: Lone Star Le Mans, Austin, Texas

September 28: 6 Hours of Fuji, Japan

November 8: 8 Hours of Bahrain