Wehrlein quickest as second half of Berlin E-Prix gets underway

Pascal Wehrlein was quickest in the final practice session of the Berlin E-Prix, as the second race day of the doubleheader at Tempelhof Airport got underway.

The TAG Heuer Porsche driver’s best time of 1m 1.922 was 0.043s quicker than Saturday race winner Nick Cassidy with DS Penske’s Stoffel Vandoorne third, 0.133s back.

Maserati MSG’s Jehan Daruvala and Maximilian GUenther completed the top five, ahead of Cassidy’s Jaguar TCS Racing teammate Mitch Evans, Andretti’s Jake Dennis, Jean-Eric Vergne in the second DS Penske entry, Porsche’s Antonio Felix da Costa, and Dan Ticktum of ERT.

Envision Racing rookie Paul Aron was 11th quickest, ahead of Saturday polesitter Edoardo Mortara and Lucas di Grassi, with Jordan King and Kelvin van der Linde 14th and 15 respectively.


The Nissan dio of Sacha Fenestraz and Oliver Rowland were next, with NEOM McLaren’s Taylor Barnard 18th, the highest-placed driver to set his best time not using the full compliment of 350 kW.

Joel Eriksson, Jake Hughes, Norman Nato and Sergio Sette Camara completed the field.


Story originally appeared on Racer