Why Provisional Formula E Schedule for 2023 Does Not Include US Stop

·2 min read
Photo credit: Xinhua News Agency - Getty Images
Photo credit: Xinhua News Agency - Getty Images

The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship released its 2023 schedule on Wednesday, and there was one glaring omission for U.S. fans of the all-electric, open-wheel series.

No New York.

Not yet, anyway.

New York has hosted Formula E on the streets of Brooklyn since Year 3—the 2016-2017 season— of the championship. This year, Formula E hits the streets of Brooklyn overlooking the Statue of Liberty for a doubleheader on July 16-17.

The 18-race 2023 season is slated to kickoff on January 14 in Mexico City. There are three "TBD" race weekends listed on the schedule, and it's possible that a summer date could still work for New York. Those TBD dates are Feb. 25, March 11 and June 24.

"New York has been the home of Formula E in the USA since Season 3, with the exception of the COVID-hit Season 6 in 2020, and has delivered some epic races in front of full grandstands," said Alberto Longo, co-founder and chief championship officer for Formula E. "We are looking forward to repeating that at the 2022 New York City E-Prix on in July.

"Major construction work in the Brooklyn area will make it a challenge to use the current track layout next year which is why we have not announced a specific date on the provisional Season 9 calendar. However, we will continue to work closely with our local partners in Brooklyn to explore solutions for racing in New York next season.”

The United States has been a fixture on the series schedule since the inaugural 2014-15 season. That year, Miami and Long Beach hosted two of the 11 races on the schedule. Long Beach returned for Year 2 in the 2015-16 season. Brooklyn assumed the lone U.S. Formula E stop on the schedule beginning in 2016-17.

New stops on the schedule for next season are Hyderabad, India and Sao Paulo, Brazil.

"We are also working hard to include Cape Town (South Africa) and a race in the USA when the provisional calendar is updated later this year," Longo said.

The 2023 season will include the debut of the series' Gen 3 cars and manufacturers McLaren, Maserati and ABT. They will join Porsche, Jaguar and Nissan on the 12-team, 24-car grid.

This weekend, the series is in Morocco.

ABB FIA Formula E World Championship 2023 Schedule

Season 9

  • Jan. 14 - Mexico City

  • Jan. 27-28 - Diriyah, Saudi Arabia

  • Feb. 11 - Hyderabad, India

  • Feb. 25 - TBD

  • March 11 - TBD

  • March 25 - Sao Paulo, Brazil

  • April 22 - Berlin, Germany

  • May 6 - Monaco

  • May 20-21 - Seoul, South Korea

  • June 3-4 - Jakarta, Indonesia

  • June 24 - TBD

  • July 15-16 - Rome, Italy

  • July 29-30 - London