56 entries for IMSA’s Six Hours of Watkins Glen

With endurance racing back on the IMSA docket after a trio of sprint races, the Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen features a 56-car entry list swollen with IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup (IMEC) entries. That includes the return of Iron Lynx Lamborghini’s SC63 with Andrea Caldarelli and Matteo Cairoli handling driving duties, bringing the GTP field to 11.

The six-hour format on the 3.4-mile, 11-turn Watkins Glen International circuit allows pro teams in GTP and GTD PRO to choose to run three drivers, or only two. Most have opted to keep their two core drivers, although a few will bring in their endurance addition. That includes Whelen Cadillac Racing adding Tom Blomqvist to Pipo Derani and Jack Aitken, the IMEC leaders in GTP, and JDC-Miller MotorSports bringing back Phil Hanson.

Connor De Phillippi and Nick Yelloly are the defending winners in GTP, the BMW M Team RLL No. 25 M Hybrid V8 having been awarded the victory after the No. 6 Porsche Penske Motorsport 963 was found to be out of compliance with a too-worn skid plank.


In GTD PRO, only Paul Miller Racing will run three drivers, again adding Neil Verhagen to the regular lineup of Madison Snow and Bryan Sellers. The trio is leading the IMEC points after Daytona and Sebring. Eleven GTD PRO entries will contest Watkins Glen with the return of Daytona winners Risi Competizione and the No. 62 Ferrari 296 GT3 (Daniel Serra and Davide Rigon), along with Iron Lynx and the No. 19 Lamborghini Huracán GT3 Evo2 for Franck Perera and Jordan Pepper.

AO Racing’s Seb Priaulx and Laurin Heinrich are leading the overall GTD PRO Championship after back-to-back victories at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca and Detroit.

Back in action for the first time since Sebring, LMP2 will have 13 cars. Only Era Racing has won so far in 2024, and they’ll be looking to keep that streak alive. Being one of the few teams whose driving squads, in whole or part, didn’t contest the 24 Hours of Le Mans along with Riley Motorsports’ Gar Robinson, Felipe Fraga and Josh Burdon, could be a blessing, as they come in fresher; or it could be a curse depending on how long it takes to shake the rust off.

AF Corse is the only LMP2 team running strictly IMEC, and returns for Watkins Glen with Luis Perez Companc, Nicklas Nielsen and Lilou Wadoux Ducellier in the No. 88 ORECA.

GTD grows more than any other class for Michelin Endurance Cup events, adding Ferrari 296 GT3s from AF Corse for Simon Mann, Francois Heriau and Miguel Molina; and Cetilar Racing for Roberto Lacorte, Girogio Sernagiotto and Antonio Fuoco. Iron Dames returns with a the No. 83 Lamborghini for Rahel Frey, Michelle Gatting and Sarah Bovy and Lone Star Racing will make its third appearance of the season with Salih Yoluc, Rui Pinto de Andrade and Scott Andrews.

All will likely be chasing the seemingly unstoppable Winward Racing. The trio of Russell Ward, Philip Ellis and Indy Dontje has taken both IMEC rounds so far in the No. 57 Mercedes AMG GT3, as well  as Ward and Ellis winning at Laguna Seca. As a result, they lead both the overall and IMEC points.

The Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen takes place Sunday, June 23 with a green flag scheduled for 11:10 a.m. ET. Flag-to-flag coverage will be available on Peacock, as well as on outside the U.S. USA Network will provide coverage of the first half beginning at 11 a.m. ET. Qualifying will be available on on Saturday, June 22 at 3:25 p.m. ET, as well as on Peacock. Select sessions will be covered by IMSA Radio, available on and


Story originally appeared on Racer